Serving the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Academic Community


Open Letter from University of Nebraska Faculty on Recent Attacks on Our Institution:


The mission of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) is to advance academic freedom and shared governance; to define fundamental professional values and standards for higher education; to promote the economic security of faculty, academic professionals, graduate students, post‐doctoral fellows, and all those engaged in teaching and research in higher education; to help the higher education community organize to make our goals a reality; and to ensure higher education’s contribution to the common good.

AAUP-Nebraska advances this mission at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

2017-2018 Officers

President: John Bender, PhD — Professor, College of Journalism and Mass Communications

Past President: Kurt Geisinger, PhD — W.C. Meierhenry Distinguished Professor

Secretary: Ken Bloom, PhD — Professor, Physics & Astronomy

At-Large Representative: Khalid Sayood, PhD — Henson Professor of Engineering

Committee A Chair: Stephen Ramsay, PhD — Susan J. Rosowski Associate Professor of English

**Special Announcement**

We are currently seeking nominations and self-nominations for the following positions: President-Elect, Treasurer, and second At-Large Representative. Please contact Dr. John Bender at for more information.